When your mind is gone

December the 8th is a peculiar day. Not only is it the birthday of a great friend, but it also marks the occasion of one birth and one death in the realm of music and life as such. Both have left quite a mark.

Not only me, even my parents were non-existent when the first thing occurred, namely the birth of Jim Morrison. I will not repeat his life story, read No One Here Gets Out Alive, and believe it or not, as you prefer.

The Beatles and the Stones are for blowing your mind; the Doors are for afterwards, when your mind is already gone,” said critic Gene Youngblood back in the day. We shall see about that, but my 18-year-old self was digging that shit. I collected all of their music (with the help from a friend of my parents), I was at Jim’s grave (with exactly the friend who is celebrating today), I saw Oliver Stone’s film in Paris with her, and the next time I was in Paris I took my family in search of the house where he died. So understanding they were 🙂

Here is my favourite track (I saw that some people say Nirvana ripped it for Smells Like Teen Spirit):

When I was ten years old, “STOP”, the magazine that was in our home all my life, had a man on the cover with a black ribbon in the corner. I barely knew who he was but could feel that something major occurred. One of the things that you can’t really believe just happened and nobody does anything about it, sort of like NATO bombing Belgrade, or when they added the ninth year to compulsory primary school (I mean, really, children, no revolution?).

But yes, John was dead, shot, in front of his New York home (and Denis Leary would add: “And Yoko stood right by him and nothing”).

White is the colour of my favourite album and this track is pretty much mind-blowing all on its own (no matter what critics say and no need to be performed by any Nirvana members with Paul McCartney):

But I wish to finish with a song by John Lennon which brings many happy memories. Now you can rest in peace, John.

≈ Manja Maksimovič ≈

Talk to me

